Me and VSG

I want this Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG). I attended a seminar 3 years ago on weight loss surgery.

There are three types of gastric or bariatric surgery. One is a lap band. It is reversible. You can read up on it here at Wiki. Suffice to say  I don’t want a silicone tube inside me that has to constantly be adjusted.

The next is Roux en-Y. This is where they make a very small stomach pouch and hook it up to a different part of the intestine. I have Ulcerative Colitis, an autoimmune disease, and phutzing with my intestines is not an option.

VSG is where the surgeon removes a large part of the stomach. This area includes where the hunger hormone is produced. The amount the patient can digest at one time is drastically reduced. This is not a reversible surgery.

sleevepic

 

I did not want it enough back then. I thought I could do extreme weight loss on my own. I did not want the regimented eating plans, really working at exercise, the finality of surgery. So how’d that work out for me? I’ve gained even more since then.

I am ready. I am making plans. I have started on vitamins that help with hair and skin. I am eating smaller meals, and exercising more. Today I will go check out Dollar Tree for baby food dishes and containers. My husband is going with me to the seminar Wednesday this week.

To borrow a phrase from my more religious friends, I am acting as if God has already given me what I’ve asked for. Bring it on.

4 thoughts on “Me and VSG”

  1. I’m very pleased with the sleeve. I’m a year and one month out. It is a very emotional journey but so very rewarding. I created my blog with every intention of updating daily but life kinda has a way of redirecting plans lol. But I’m so glad to follow you and your journey!

    Best of luck to you. You’ll be very happy and if you have any questions that I can answer I’ll definitely do my best to help ya there. I get excited when others start this incredible journey. ♥
    -Aimee

Leave a Reply

