Stop Food Substitutions

So much truth in this post. A hard truth that I am learning to confront; to sit in an uncomfortable feeling rather than eat.

Regina Bartlett

Thirty years. That’s how long I struggled with my weight and truth be told it will be a fight forever. People never want to hear that. They want the fantasy of effortless weight loss followed by blissful lifelong maintenance. I know the fantasy well. I banked on it happening since I was twelve. Maintaining weight loss is work and a lot of that work is sitting in uncomfortable feelings that you can’t stuff down with food.

I saw a post on an bariatric Facebook support group with this question:

Help! I’m craving chips badly! What do you use to substitute??

The thread was filled with low carb substitutions like parmesan cheese chips, popcorn, and lots of other ideas.

My comment was to find out why you’re craving chips because if hungry isn’t the question than food isn’t the answer.

Very unpopular answer.

A food problem is a food problem. When…

View original post 142 more words

Leave a Reply

