Sitting with Uncomfortable Feelings

DH has been gone all day, and tonight will be with friends. I was out, but knew coming home that it’d be an empty house to greet me. Immediately I had impulses- shopping, movies, food. I realized I was looking for distractions. I gave in to window shopping, and got 2 rental DVDs to bring home. Then my mind said “Hey, how about Taco Bell? You could have a bean and cheese burrito right? You got cash?”  I checked. Yes I did. 

Something reminded me tho- if hungry isn’t the question, then food isn’t the answer. Was I hungry? No. So what was I really feeling?  Sitting with uncomfortableness (is that a word?) is new. But I need to b able to do it. 

I sat. 

My emotions were- sadness, resentment, sadness. 

I’m thinking I should start keeping a gym bag and clothes in the car, so I can go work this out whenever it happens. 

I went home tho – and DIDN’T go to Taco Bell. 

1 thought on “Sitting with Uncomfortable Feelings”

  1. Yay!! So proud of you for doing that. Its very hard to shut those silly food urges up in your brain. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

