Surgery Day- not

Today was supposed to be my surgery day. I wore myself out getting my classroom closed and caught a virus that gave me a productive cough. Surgeon gave me the option of taking a chance, but I’m not keen on pneumonia with a new stomach. So my new date is June 8.  I was a bit disappointed but mostly glad that I could sleep all day yesterday and not drive up to TN. 

Since my last post almost a month ago, I’ve had a lot of victories. My nutritionist put me on a week of high protein low carb diet, then 2 weeks of smoothies. Today starts my 3rd week. I suppose that with 2 Weeks more I could have hopped off for some tuna or eggs, but I have a bad history when it comes to getting back on the wagon. So I’m still doing all liquids. Yay for me. I’ve lost 15 lbs (accounting for clothing) since May 1st. I now weigh 257lbs. I had a stall at week three but I seem to be past it. 

It’s been hard from a society standpoint to be on all liquids. Missing out in partaking of staff treats, group dinners, etc.  My mom told me recently she doesn’t think she could do it. From a body standpoint I know what stomach hunger feels like, but I’m free of the munchies and cravings that plagued my life.  So 2 weeks more. If this is to shrink the liver then I guess I’ll have the skinniest liver ever. 

2 thoughts on “Surgery Day- not”

  1. Awesome! I’m so encouraged by your strength. For some it seems like the pre-op liquids are the hardest. You’re taking everything in stride and are already seeing the benefits. Awesome! Let me know if I can be of any help!

  2. Thank you so much! Last night I was so close to eating a piece of cheese, but I thought no, it’ll just be the first of many breaks so I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

